Tel: +254 734 727 257Email:

Visas and entry conditions in Kenya

Visa-exempt foreign nationals:

Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cyprus, Dominica, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Jamaica, Kiribati, Lesotho Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Namibia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, Saint Vincent & Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Salomon Islands, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Nationalities NOT eligible for online e-Visa:

Nationals of these countries must obtain their visa in embassy:

Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cameroon, Eritrea, Iraq, North Korea, Kosovo, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Palestine, Senegal, Somalia, Syria, Tajikistan and Yemen.

Nationalities subject to visa and eligible for e-Visa online:

Citizens of all other nationalities can obtain their visa online (via e-Visa), in embassies, or on arrival.

How to obtain a visa?

Apply online with E-Visa:

Generally the fastest and easiest way to get your visa. Citizens of the eligible nationalities (see above) can within a few minutes complete their application and pay their visa fees on the dedicated website.

You will need:

  • A scanned photo
  • Your passport
  • A credit card

Only standard single entry visas, transit visas and courtesy visas are eligible for e-Visa. Visit e-Visa

Visa on arrival:

You can complete the visa formalities upon arrival at Nairobi airports but please note that the aforementioned e-Visa allows for border checks to be passed more quickly.

Standard procedure in embassies:

If you are not eligible for the e-Visa or if the type of visa you wish can not be obtained through the e-Visa procedure, you can go to the nearest Kenya Embassy with the required documentation. For more information visit and view the ‘Missions Abroad’ section.